Skip to main content

PENGRIDION

Home  Contact Us  News and Events  Book Reviews  The Golden Acorn  Glasruhen Gate  Silver Hill  Book of Shadows  HAWKE & Co  Bookshop   
US Reviews... > Other Reviews > Press Articles... > Bookcrossing Reviews > Author Interviews > Silver Hill Reviews > Teacher Comments > KidsReadWriteReview >  
more reviews from various internet sites





Dec 13, 2011
Eric
This novel written for upper elementary and middle school has been considered the next Harry Potter. The story is a tale about a young boy who finds a Gold Acorn and soon discovers new friends both human and animals has he is summoned to help save a mystical forest from ruin. Wonderfully written with lots of comic mischief.
about The Golden Acorn
 


Dec 30, 2011
rocketsauce
A lovely story... I found this really enjoyable, and although it is aimed at a younger audience it can be enjoyed just as much by adults. A recommended read :)
about The Golden Acorn

 


Oct 12, 2011
Healing Green blogspot
A nice youth fiction book, wonderful for any child that is feeling a little "but I can't do that" or "I'm not worthy."
about The Golden Acorn
 
 
 
Sept 25, 2011
Derek
I really enjoyed this book.... There are some very familiar elements used, but they are arranged in a way that is new and interesting from the start. Added to it is a lot of lore about Druids. I found myself wondering how much of it was taken from actual mythology.
I enjoyed the fact that there is no real antagonist in the story. There's just a problem to solve, and everyone has to put their heads together and figure out the solution based on their individual abilities. It was refreshing.
about The Golden Acorn
 
 
Sept 5, 2011
April
Excellent young tale of magic and friendship and learning to be the person you want to be.
about The Golden Acorn
 
 
Aug 31, 2011
Lorraine
A great story for kids... and mummies. Easy to read and understand, kept the little man interested and entertained. Looking forward to reading the next book in the series.
about The Golden Acorn
 
 
Aug 23, 2011
Frank
This turned out to be a great book. Very clean (in it's writing) and easy to stay with. I like the way the author works excitement and challenges. It has all the thrills and moves alone fast. I'm going to have to find the second book on this one. The writer didn't get in the way of the story as too many authors do. I love a fantasy that is just that and doesn't try to be something else.
about The Golden Acorn

 

Jul 21, 2011

Amamdamay

I'm really, really loving it, much to my surprise. I'm not normally into fantasy... It's incredibly well-written (a couple plot-twists surprised even me!) and witty.

about The Golden Acorn

 

Jul 19, 2011

Lyndee

Very refreshing. It's not overly violent and suspense is quickly resolved- perfect for my kids right now.

about The Golden Acorn

 

 

Jun 17, 2011

Suzy
An entertaining book for youngsters... I loved the developing relationship between Jack and Camelin... very entertaining! And the fact that the author has incorporated some real history into the story is a wonderful learning tool for young children.

about The Golden Acorn


 

Jun 16, 2011

Alexandra

I could not put this book down as soon as I picked it up. The characters were great! This is now one of my favourite YA stories.

about The Golden Acorn

 

 

Jul 12, 2011

Michelle

A great alternative to Harry Potter for kids who are a little too young for the heavy topics in that series, but interested in a similar plot line and magic/fantasy based story.

about The Golden Acorn


July 5, 2011

Evenspor

from desertspor.blogspot.com

Thank you for dropping by, Ms. Cooper. I did enjoy Glasruhen Gate just as much, so much that I finished it within a day. I am glad to hear that number three will be out soon. If you see this, I want to thank you and your publishers for making the books so affordable. I look forward not only to reading the books myself but also collecting them for my kids to read eventually.

Jul 03, 2011

Melissa

A cute read. More of a story for kids, but alright for adults too.

about The Golden Acorn

 

 

Jun 16, 2011

Alexandra

I could not put this book down as soon as I picked it up. The characters were great! This is now one of my favourite YA stories.

about The Golden Acorn

 

Jun 13, 2011

Row

Exciting fairy tail.

about The Golden Acorn

 

Jun 12, 2011

Renee
The Golden Acorn is a magical coming of age story. A nicely written fantasy with a boy protagonist… It would lend itself well to being read aloud.

about The Golden Acorn

May 24, 2011

Angie

A sweet, simple, story for children. I agree with the other reviews that say this would be great book to introduce a child to the fantasy genre. Jack was a cute character whose desire to help the other characters won you over quickly. The fact it was a blend of the modern world and fantasy world make it more enjoyable. If you can find your inner child, you'll enjoy this book.

about The Golden Acorn

 

May 23, 2011

Kate

Awesome book, cant wait for the rest of this amazing series.

about The Golden Acorn

 

May 20, 2011

is was a fabulous story.
The character of Jack Brenin is beautifully crafted and I would like to see some more books with him as a central character - the book would be a great one for boys and would perhaps kindle an interest in Roman or Ancient British history in some reluctant students.

about The Golden Acorn


 

May 19th 2011
Gwen - (Christchurch, New Zealand)
You have no idea how much joy your books have given me.

Thank you so very, very much.

You deserve much fame and fortune... the books are great.

about the Hawke & Co. and Jack Brenin books.

 

May 18, 2011

Courtney Lavista

A nice collection of characters with amusing storyline. Need to read next book to see how it closes.

about The Golden Acorn

 

 

May 14, 2011

GoldenjoyBazyll

Very creative and enjoyable read.

about The Golden Acorn

 

 

May 14, 2011

Kate

It was a good read… The Golden Acorn certainly has the kind of magic and adventure that I think kids would be drawn to.
about The Golden Acorn


May 13, 2011

Nyssa

I could read another book in this series if there was one. I really enjoyed it.

about Glasruhen Gate


 

May 09, 2011

Bylthe Harris

Before I started this book, I didn't think I would like it that much. As I read the book, I realized the plot was very interesting and it set things up that would happen later on in the book, which made me even more eager to finish the book. I really loved this book; it was very interesting and was executed amazingly. I was very sad to see it end and I will definitely be reading the sequel. I recommend this to everyone who wants a light little fantasy book.

about The Golden Acorn

 

May 04, 2011

Deonna

This was a really fun book!

about The Golden Acorn

 

May 02, 2011

Susan Robinson

The characters were interesting, there were surprises along the way and the world that the author created with her words was easy to see in my minds eye. A great little book, I recommend it.

about The Golden Acorn

 

Apr 30, 2011

Karolinde (Kari)

This is a fun little book, I wish it hadn't ended when it did.

about The Golden Acorn

 

Apr 25, 2011

Pat

…engaging story with likable characters. I would recommend the book to any young or young-at-heart reader.

about The Golden Acorn

 

Apr 25, 2011

Lesley

Although written for children, this is a story that can be enjoyed by adults who've retained their enjoyment of a simple but entertaining yarn… it was enlivened by a cast of characters who were consistently engaging and well-drawn, even the minor ones.
I would have adored this book when I was a kid - especially the Night Guard rats and the trip back in time to Roman Britain! - and even as a cynical adult reader I still found it a charming and refreshing read. It makes a good opening novel for a series.

about The Golden Acorn


 

Apr 16, 2011

Holly

Sequel to the Golden Acorn. I enjoyed this one as much as the previous one, and hope to see more from this author. Suitable for all ages and might appeal to young Harry Potter fans.

about Glasruhen Gate

 

 

Apr 09, 2011

Rebecca McKinnon

This is fun, imaginative story. I'm looking forward to reading the next one!

about The Golden Acorn


Mar 15, 2011

Mathematical_cats

There are time when you want an Author to write faster, and this was one of those books. I read The Golden Acorn and really enjoyed it and wanted the next books asap! This is the second book in the Jack Brenin series. Its is a lovely read, flowing well throughout. This is an excellent quick read for adults or a brilliant intoduction to fantasy books for those younger. It is not at all complicated - you don't have to learn a new language in books such as the Lord of the Rings. I have the Ebooks and I am buying the paperbacks as gifts for friends. This is an excellent book. Catherine Cooper you have don it again, now how soon does the next book come out????

about Glasruhen Gate


Feb 24, 2011

Sonia

There are some great new fantasy creatures, some haunting moments and nobody dies…it’s a truly beautiful kids’book, with just the right mix of fast-paced action, minor peril, great friendships… I will definitely be getting the next one for us both to read!

about The Golden Acorn


Feb 24, 2011

Lindsay

It was a light read, probably meant for younger readers than me, but I really liked the characters, and celtic mythology is always interesting as well.

about The Golden Acorn


Feb 21, 2011

Doreen

I think this is a good fantasy for children 9-12ish years of age. It was well written and brought in a lot of Celtic mythological themes. The main character Jack Brenin is good for children -even though he is a hero figure he also has doubts about his own abilities and makes some mistakes along the way. He works through his fear of heights, for example. And, any book that features a talking raven is good enough for me! :-)

about The Golden Acorn


 

 

Jan 14, 2011

Mathematical_cats

An enjoyable story which (so far) is completely different from other fantasy books I have read. I would recommend this book, it won't suit everyone but I am enjoying it and would happily pass it on to friends and their children, without worrying about the content.
about The Golden Acorn


some of the above have been abridged... full comments are available upon request