Skip to main content

PENGRIDION

Home  Contact Us  News and Events  Book Reviews  The Golden Acorn  Glasruhen Gate  Silver Hill  Book of Shadows  HAWKE & Co  Bookshop   
US Reviews... > Other Reviews > Press Articles... > Bookcrossing Reviews > Author Interviews > Silver Hill Reviews > Teacher Comments > KidsReadWriteReview >  

Latest Book Review Comments for the Jack Brenin Series

We've now had over 1000 reviews on Amazon between the UK and US.
The latest comments can be viewed on Catherine's author page by clicking the link above.

Thank you to everyone who's taken the time and trouble to post a review.



V
 Below you can find a selection of previous comments from various sources.


To anyone reading these from America... I've always replied to comments made about my books
but unfortunately Amazonwon't accept my comments anymore because I'm an author!
I'd therefore like to thank everyone who took the time and trouble to review my books.





Dear Catherine Cooper

Allie Farnham (Madison, Wisconsin)
Posted at 8:10 PM


I love your book. It is the most riveting, provocative, spellbinding book that I have ever read.
Your sense of character and writing style had me hooked from page one.

Camelin, OH Camelin, he is the most colorful character I have EVER come across. His sarcasm, moodiness and love for food just has had me captured. I have a tattoo of Camelin right on my heart. Every time I see it I can’t help but smile.
Jack, so timid, yet so brave reminds me of many kids I grew up with and I can’t wait to share this book with my daughter.

Take Tolkien and mix it with Harry Potter and make it BETTER. This is what we’ve got.


Catherine, if you are reading this I would adore an autographed copy of your book! I will send you the book if you would kindly sign it. OR if you are in the midwest, I would love to meet you.

Many Regards,
Allie Farnham (Madison, Wisconsin)





Wonderful read!,

posted on Amazon on February 15, 2012
by L. M. Oberleas

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (The Adventures of Jack Brenin) (Kindle Edition)

I could hardly put this down. I love the pacing.
So many times I sat down to read a chapter and ended up reading three before I realized it.
Beautiful tale.
I can't wait to read the next one.




Glasruhen Gate's better than the first

posted on Amazon on February 12, 2012
by John R. Aberle "May your sales be fun, fulfil... (Covina, CA USA)

This review is from: Glasruhen Gate (The Adventures of Jack Brenin) (Kindle Edition)

Camelin though a raven, does a marvelous of being a sulking little boy throughout.
He's delightfully irritating and perfect for getting Jack into trouble. Yet in this story, he has a moment of wonderful self-sacrifice. I'm pulled into the sequel now because I have to learn more about what it means
that Jack is King of the Forest. This had a great surprise too about Elan's role with the Queen of Annwn.
The first book, The Golden Acorn, was a bit slower getting started. This held my interest from the beginning.
Even though I am decades older than YA, it's fun sometimes to have the simpler relationships in YA.
On the other hand, the mysteries and challenges are still wonderfully captivating and pull me from scene to scene.





Glashuren Gate

posted on Amazon on February 5, 2012
by Pingchen Lee

This review is from: Glasruhen Gate (The Adventures of Jack Brenin) (Kindle Edition)

It is a very interesting series.




a lot of promise

posted on Amazon on January 31, 2012
by Natasha

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (The Adventures of Jack Brenin) (Kindle Edition)


This book and series has a lot of promise and potential.
Although it started off slow I quite enjoyed the story and imagination involved in writing this book.
In my opinion this author will write great and amazing things in the future that I will definitly read.




The Golden Acorn

posted on Amazon on January 27, 2012
by Carrie Berube

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (The Adventures of Jack Brenin) (Kindle Edition)


This story is fun and easy to read.
I am now reading it to my 6 year old and he really loves it.
I just finished reading the 2nd one in the series and am looking forward to the 3rd one.




The Golden Acorn

posted on Amazon on January 22, 2012
by C. Ramaker

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (The Adventures of Jack Brenin) (Kindle Edition)

I loved this book and I hope you will too. I would think that the best ages for the book would be 7-11.
I would like to read it again. Hope you enjoy this wonderful book!




Couldn't put it down

posted on Amazon on January 18, 2012
by girlofsnow (SF Bay Area)

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (The Adventures of Jack Brenin) (Kindle Edition)


I downloaded this kindle book for my 10 year old, and he couldn't put it down.
He absolutely loved it, and it kept him up late at night reading ;)
The *only* downside is that this book is not on the AR list, so he can't get credit in school for having read it.
Though, I'm sure that will be remedied soon enough. Can't wait to see more from this author.




Really Fun Read

posted on Amazon on January 9, 2012
by Dena

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (The Adventures of Jack Brenin) (Kindle Edition)


I really enjoyed this book. The characters were interesting and I instantly fell in love with each and every one of them. The plot is straight forward, and interesting. The only reason I didn't give this book five stars is because it got a little slow in places. But other than that, I really enjoyed this story. I look forward to seeing more work from this author.




loved the celtic/roman theme... it was something new

posted on Amazon on January 7, 2012
by Gerratt Bethers "gdb32" (nephi ut)

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (The Adventures of Jack Brenin) (Kindle Edition)


this is one of the first book i got for my kids kindle.
i started reading it and loved it. i am glad there are 2 more books.

(just a note to say, if anyone is reading this, there are going to be 5 books in the Jack Brenin series... Catherine Cooper)




Fun Adventure!

posted on Amazon on December 30, 2011
by Jill Croom (Las Vegas)

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (The Adventures of Jack Brenin) (Kindle Edition)

Although a reluctant hero, Jack comes thru with flying colors.
The Trees are never wrong, right? This is a charming tale for readers of all ages.
I picked this up because of the reviews and was surprisingly delighted with the authors style and story.
I want to FLY! You will especially like the talking raven.....are you interested yet?




Great read

posted on Amazon on December 20, 2011
by Raney

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (The Adventures of Jack Brenin) (Kindle Edition)


I can not wait for the next book to come out.
This book was so entertaining I hated for it to end. Will definitely buy the next book.




Enchanted Tale

posted on Amazon on October 26, 2011
by susan a mahony (deerfield beach,fl USA)

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (The Adventures of Jack Brenin) (Kindle Edition)

A must for every Kindle collection wonderful tale for anyone who loves fantasy.
It grips you from the start characters you will adore and you will feel for them on their journey...
An unexpected magical delight.




My kids want the next one...

posted on Amazon on October 20, 2011
by SteveD

This review is from: Glasruhen Gate (The Adventures of Jack Brenin) (Paperback)


I have been reading these books to my kids. Just completed the second.
They really enjoy the story, it's clean and simple.
I've been asked to get the third now, so I'll see what I can do.




Wonderful kids book!

posted on Amazon on October 9, 2011
By Gina Hurteau-Jackson "Readaholic" (Northern New York State)

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (The Adventures of Jack Brenin) (Kindle Edition)


This is a great book. It's full of adventure and fantastical creatures!
I was immediately drawn into the magical world that Jack found himself living in!
I didn't want to put down the book to go back to my own world!
So glad I found this author!
I can't wait for the third installment!!!




Just as good as the first in the series!

posted on Amazon on October 9, 2011
by Gina Hurteau-Jackson "Readaholic" (Northern New York State)

This review is from: Glasruhen Gate (The Adventures of Jack Brenin) (Kindle Edition)


Sometimes I'm disappointed by the follow up to a great book. This is not one of those times!

I was taken immediately by the Golden Acorn, and I couldn't put the book down....
...I was so pleased with the first in the series I got this one. I was just as pleased with this book.


It continues where the Golden Acorn leaves off.
Full of adventure and friendship, and Jack's magical life.

Happy Reading =}




FANTASTIC!

posted on Amazon on September 11 2011
by Katrina Johnson (Bavon, VA United States)
This review is from: The Golden Acorn (The Adventures of Jack Brenin) (Kindle Edition)

This book was FANTASTIC!
This was a very interesting book, I've read many many books, but this one is one of the greatest books i've ever read.
It was most thrilling.





Fantastic read

posted on Amazon on July 29 2011
by tjslinks (Ohio)

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (The Adventures of Jack Brenin) (Kindle Edition)

I don't know if this book is meant for children, but I, as a senior citizen enjoyed it very much.
I just found the next book in the series and I will be getting that as soon as I finish this.
This book shows how one should co-operate with others, and not be afraid to face your fears.
What a great book, thanks to the writer.

I will look forward to others from this person.




Fabulous YA Fantasy

posted on Amazon on July 19 2011
by Amanda Oster (South Dakota)

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (The Adventures of Jack Brenin) (Kindle Edition)

I am so glad I gave this book a try.
It's well-written and draws you in from the very first page. It's fast-moving and entertaining.
As soon as I finished this one, I immediately purchased the next book in the series. I can't wait to start it!




couldn't put down

posted on Amazon Books 2011
by User Read

This review is from: The Golden Acorn


This is a good book that I couldn't put down. It is about a young boy who somehow finds his way into
a magical world, and apparently he has to save it. I don't usually like fantasy books, but this
one is an exception. Once you find yourself in the middle of this book, you'll be surprised on how
hard it is to get your nose out of the book!




Great bedtime story for the kids

posted on Amazon on July 7, 2011
by SteveD

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (Kindle Edition)

I really enjoyed reading this book to my kids (9 and 11 yrs).
Its is great story to encourage young kids to read and its simple enough for them to understand.
Bought this one before it became free :( and just bought the sequel.
Its worth it for me as my kids have spent hours listening to me, and can actually recall what I said...




OUTSTANDING!

posted on Amazon on July 7, 2011
by A. Reader

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (Kindle Edition)

I downloaded this to my Kindle to analyze the story structure and see what makes stories tick.
I found myself so immersed in the plot and characters that I had to forego my initial intention.
This book is a very interesting, well-plotted story with unique characters.




Great Read

posted on Amazon on July 2, 2011
by polar
This review is from: The Golden Acorn (Kindle Edition)

Really a fun series. Thanks to Catherine for letting me read for free on my Kindle...
Went on to get Glasruhen Gate and loved it to .
Now I need hard copys to share with my Grandgirls.




Fantastic read for oldies!!!!!

posted on Amazon on June 21, 2011
by molly'smum

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (Kindle Edition)


What a great read,one to sit down and be transported to a now forgotten youth.
The story is well written and you soon lose all sense of time as the story unfolds. So it's a good story
for children and of course us oldies. Try it ( it's free ) and you won't be disappointed in fact
I have just bought the follow on to see how it end's.




Absolutely Loved It

Review from a 3rd and 6th Grader
posted on Amazon on June 13, 2011

by Michael P. Gallagher (Houston, TX)

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (Kindle Edition)


This is a verbal review from both a third and sixth grader who completed the book - as a disclaimer,
I did not but then again a middle-aged gray-haired guy is not the target audience!


Bottom line summary is they both loved the book, and we have ordered (and they completed) the Kindle-format sequel. When asked what they liked the most, the third grader said he liked the characters, time travel, and the story,
which was about all I could get out of him. The sixth grader said she liked the fantasy / science fiction aspects as
they are her favorite genres, and she really liked the alternate reality travel aspect. She then went on to a five
minute conversation of how neat it would be to have something like the golden acorn in real life, what she
would do, etc. until I couldn't take it anymore.


To tell you how much they liked it, they both insisted on the sequel, which we purchased and they enjoyed.
As I type this, the Kindle price is free and obviously something you should grab for this summer to keep your
kids a little occupied. What I really like is it appears to be a great story and having them want to read more
and exercise their minds vs. playing an endless video game!



Loved It and Want More

Review from a 3rd and 6th Grader
posted on Amazon on June 13, 2011
by Michael P. Gallagher (Houston, TX)

This review is from: Glasruhen Gate (Kindle Edi
tion)

This is a verbal review from both a third and sixth grader who completed the book - as a disclaimer,
I did not but then again a middle-aged gray-haired guy is not the target audience!

This is the sequel to The Golden Acorn, which should be read first.
Bottom line summary is they both the 3rd and 6th grader loved this book, and they were both quite insistent
on purchasing the Kindle-format sequel to the Golden Acorn. When asked what they liked the most, the
third grader said he liked the characters, time travel, and the story, which was about all I could get out of him.
The sixth grader said she liked the fantasy / science fiction aspects as they are her favorite genres, and she
really liked the alternate reality travel aspect. Both of them said they would recommend it to their friends, and
three friends downloaded both the Golden Acorn and this sequel to their Kindles.

Similar to the experiences with the Golden Acorn, after reading this book the sixth grader carried on a conversation of how neat it would be to have something like the golden acorn in real life, what she would do, etc. until I couldn't take it anymore.



amazing book

posted on Amazon on June 10, 2011
by booklover

This review is from: Glasruhen Gate (Kindle Edition)

This book was a well written piece of literature.
I literally couldn't put it down, I read it in one sitting.



Arthur to Jack

posted
on Amazon on June 4, 2011
by Constance Gilbert "writer/editor" (Central Oregon)

This review is from: Golden Acorn (The Adventures of Jack Brenin) (Paperback)


I feel in love with fantasy via King Arthur many ages ago. As a grandmother, I continue to read and enjoy good fantasy books - you'll often find me in the YA section scanning for the next time & place to visit. More important though is finding good fantasy to share with my grandchildren, who love reading and being read to.

Having just finished The Golden Acorn via Kindle, it's on my "must buy" list for our next visit to the bookstore...
along with book 2. (It's so much fun to finish one book and be able to continue via the sequel right away.)


As a writer, skill and style are important to me. As a reader, I want to be lost inside the story so that the
writer in me doesn't edit as I go. You thought there were only two ravens in the story? No, I was there, too!


Camelin and Jack are correct, flying sure makes one hungry! I am hungry for more from Catherine Cooper.



Great Story

posted
on Amazon on May 31, 2011
by dc (usa)

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (Kindle Edition)


This book and the next in the series are an easy and fun read with likeable characters.
I look forward to the next installment.



I am really enjoying this book. I am so glad I discovered it.

posted
by Kate in May 2011
on Backofthebookreviews

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (Kindle Edition)


The story introduces us to a range of characters: Ravens, Shape-shifters, Bats, Humans, Hamadryads,
Dragons and many other delightful characters. At first I thought that Camelin was a human like character
until I continued reading and he turned out to be a raven. He quickly made it into the top 5 characters that
I liked most in this story as my number 1. The friendship between Camelin and Jack started out very up
and down but it was lovely to see that they grew close as friends and helped each other throughout the story.
My other favourite characters include Jack Brenin, Timmery the bat and Charkle the Dragon.




Fantastic Childrens Novel

posted
on Amazon on May 22, 2011
by baby

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (Kindle Edition)


Granted, this is for young children, I would say 3-4th grade, but the novel captivated me as well- a college graduate.
It was easy, to the point, with a well thought out plot.



A Great Book

posted
on Amazon on May 19, 2011
by chloe chan (New York, USA)

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (Kindle Edition)


I loved this book. It was great. I thought they should put more about Jack and his wand.
Otherwise I thought the story was great.
I thought it was great how Catherine described her creatures and how she wrote about trees.
All in all this was awesome book.




Enveloping Fantasy

posted
on Amazon on May 19, 2011
by Galena White (Manassas, Virginia United States)

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (Kindle Edition)


Highly enjoyable and enchanting.
I love a good book that totally carries me into the world of fantasy and makes me feel like I am a character in this book.
I could envision every aspect of it.
I love to subtlety of introducing the reality to the fantasy of magic and oddities.
This was a great read and I couldn't put it down.




Absolutely loved this book!

posted
on Amazon on May 18, 2011
by Gabriella (USA)

This review is from: Golden Acorn (The Adventures of Jack Brenin) (Paperback)


This is the first time I've ever read a book with time travel in it and I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised!
I really fell in love with this book and was sad to see it end.
There are 2 children I know that are 7 and 10 that I think will love it as well!
I can't wait until they get a chance to read it!
The characters are loveable as well as smart and I found myself laughing out loud at parts.
There were quite a few times when my heart was racing and I couldn't put the book down.
I loved that the trees talked and sang and I rooted for Jack throughout the whole book.
It was nice to see his self esteem grow as I *turned* the pages on my Kindle.

Great book! Really loved it!



Wonderful fantasy tale!

posted
on Amazon on May 15, 2011
by Shanea A. Wyatt "SWyatt" (Phillipsburg, Kansas)

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (Kindle Edition)


This book was the first book I read on my Kindle and was an extremely fun read!
I love the characters and I really felt like I was part of the story.
I will be reading this book to my children in the near future.
I cannot wait to read the sequel!!




A must read for all ages!

posted
on Amazon on May 10, 2011
by Danielle Hensley (Greenfield, IN United States)

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (Kindle Edition)


I am at least a book a week reader and have been for nearly twenty years.
In all the books I've read, this book is in my top ten favorites.
I was so engrossed in the world Catherine created that I couldn't wait to finish it!
Her characters are intriguing and the story is unique, something that is so rare to find.
If you are an adult looking for a great book that breaks the mold,
or if you are looking to read something to your children, you must read this book!



The golden acorn

posted
on Amazon on May 10, 2011
by essie720

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (Kindle Edition)


since i was an adult i wasn't sure i would like this book but i loved it i couldnt put it down i read it in one day.
i loved the characters and the things they could do. i would recommend this book to all ages.



Enjoyable fantasy

posted
on Amazon on May 7, 2011
by E. Wheeler (New England, USA)

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (Kindle Edition)


The author has a clear, consistent mythology behind her premise and I enjoyed the characters.
Yes, it's written for "young adults" and has a light touch, but it's fun. I recommend the sequel too.



Very nice story

posted
on Amazon on May 5, 2011
by L. LovelaceJones "The Tatting Flutist" (Southern California)

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (Kindle Edition)


It is written at a fairly simple level, obviously not meant for the adult market.
However, it has many elements I particularly enjoy:
1) the story moves along;
2) the fantasy/magic elements that are integral to the story;
3) the characters are very likable;
4) the nasty people get a come-uppance;
5) a happy ending with room for a sequel, which I have already purchased and plan to read very soon.

If I had a grandchild (my son is grown but childless), I would love to read this with him/her on a Saturday afternoon.
Still, I enjoyed the book all by myself, even though I am not the target audience.
A fun read to share with the children in your life.



Interesting

posted
on Amazon on May 2, 2011
by AmberC

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (Kindle Edition)


I thought this book was great. The story was interesting as well as the characters.
Appropriate for teens and young adults, no bad language.
The historical tie in of the story's location was also very nice.



Enter and enjoy

posted
on Amazon on April 28, 2011
by WannabeWriter (Scribbling, Imagination)

This review is from: Glasruhen Gate (Kindle Edition)


I bought the Kindle edition of Glasruhen Gate immediately after finishing The Golden Acorn.
Gate picks up right where Acorn leaves off, and follows Jack on his adventure into Annwn.

In keeping with the first book, the protagonists' problems are not overly dramatized, but rather are dealt with by very cool-headed characters. Jack learns many useful life lessons, which are conveyed nicely through the story, not beat over the reader's head. The book also give a light dose of history (mixed with legend, of course).

The best part of this story is that there are a few surprises waiting to reveal themselves - things that aren't transparent,
but that still fit well with the story. Quite a delightful, quick read.



Full of spirit and magical creatures

posted
on Amazon on April 18, 2011
by inkcube

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (Kindle Edition)


I thought that this was going to be a Harry Potter rip-off with all the mentions of The Chosen One
and the main character's untidy hair that wouldn't lie flat.
But the similarities end there.

The author created a brilliant world that focused a lot on nature and animals.
The young hero, Jack, is the only one who can save the forest spirits. I was entertained throughout the whole story.
I can see how this book would be great for both children and the older generation.



Quick, delightful read

posted
on Amazon on April 16, 2011
by H (UT)

This review is from: Glasruhen Gate (Kindle Edition)


I finished the Golden Acorn and immediately moved on to Glasruhen Gate.
It was a lovely continuation, and I hope to see more from this author on this storyline!
Suitable for all ages, both of these books will probably appeal to younger Harry Potter fans.
I think they would be good read-aloud-at-bedtime stories.



Geat sequel to The Golden Acorn

posted
on Amazon on April 14, 2011
by Kristina Cain (Lafayette, IN United States)

This review is from: Glasruhen Gate (Kindle Edition)


I finished reading The Golden Acorn a couple of days ago, and I just had to get the sequel.
The Glasruhen Gate certainly did not disappoint.
This was a fast-paced, fun, magical adventure.
The series is geared towards teens, but at 26, I must say that I really enjoyed it.
I look forward to the next book in the series.



Engaging tale for teenage reader

posted
on Amazon on April 10, 2011
by L. Floyd (Atlanta GA USA)

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (Kindle Edition)

This is a very engaging story; probably best suited for a teenage reader.
The writer has not tried to ride the coattails of Harry Potter, even though it's a magical tale and the setting is Britain.
I enjoyed the animal characters as well as the people characters (some are not exactly human - smile).
I liked the main character and was genuinely interested in his developing confidence in himself and his mission.



Enchanting Tale

posted
on Amazon on March 15, 2011
by Bob

This review is from: The Golden Acorn (Kindle Edition)


This is how Kindle books should be produced complete with maps and line drawings which you can zoom in for more detail.
For some strange reason it opened at the start of the story so unless you go to menu and select the map
or page backwards from the start you will miss the delightful maps.
This is a children's book in the tradition of the Enid Blyton books such as the "faraway tree" and although
at the end there is some violence it is suitable for all ages, a welcome change.
With talking animals, birds, trees and even time travel there is something for everyone and although it has a basic quest theme
it is well written. It is book one of a series but it stands alone and although it is set up at the end for the next book there are no loose ends that require the next book to be read although you should.